Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Commonwealth Short Story Prize

1 November 2023

The 2024 Prize is open for submissions until 1 November 2023.

The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country aged 18 and over. It is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2 000–5 000 words).

Submissions should be made via the online entry form. The eligibility and entry guidelines can be found here.

The international judging panel will select a shortlist of around twenty stories, from which five regional winners are chosen. One of the regional winners is then selected as the overall winner, who receives £5 000. The regional winners will receive £2 500. All five regional winning stories will be published on Granta.

Click here for more information.


1 November 2023
Event Category:


Commonwealth Foundation
View Organizer Website